english | espaƱol

The Rosary


Monday - Saturday 07.30 am, 01.30 pm and 07.00 pm

Program Devotion


The Rosary (from Latin rosarium, meaning "rose garden") is a popular and traditional Catholic devotion.

The prayer combines vocal (or silent) prayer and meditation. The prayer consists of repeated sequences of one Our Father, ten Hail Mary and one Glory Be to The Father, and is very often accompanied by the Fatima Prayer. Each of these sequences is known as a decade. The praying of each decade is accompanied by meditation on one of the Mysteries of the Rosary, which are events in the lives of Jesus Christ and his mother, the Blessed Virgin Mary.

The rosary is part of the Catholic veneration of Mary, which has been promoted by numerous popes (especially Leo XIII, known as "The Rosary Pope") Devotion to the rosary is one of the most notable features of popular Catholic spirituality.

Pope John Paul II placed the rosary at the very center of Christian spirituality and called it "among the finest and most praiseworthy traditions of Christian contemplation."

The praying of the Rosary is traditionally dedicated to one of three sets of "Mysteries" to be said in sequence, one per day: the Joyful (sometimes Joyous) Mysteries; the Sorrowful Mysteries; and the Glorious Mysteries. Pope John Paul II, in his apostolic letter Rosarium Virginis Mariae (October 2002), recommended an additional set called the Luminous Mysteries (or the "Mysteries of Light").

Joyful Mysteries

Luminous Mysteries

Sorrowful Mysteries

Glorious Mysteries

Days of praying

Sunday The Glorious Mysteries
Monday The Joyful Mysteries
Tuesday The Sorrowful Mysteries
Wednesday The Glorious Mysteries
Thursday The Luminous Mysteries
Friday The Sorrowful Mysteries
Saturday The Joyful Mysteries

How to pray rosary

The most common way to pray Rosary is:

While holding the crucifix make the Sign of the Cross. and then recite the Apostles Creed
Recite the Our Father on the first large bead.
Recite a Hail Mary for an increase of faith, hope and charity on each of the three small beads.
Recite the Glory Be to the Father on the next large bead.
Recite the Fatima Prayer "O my Jesus" on the large bead.
Recall the first Rosary Mystery and recite the Our Father on the large bead.
On each of the adjacent ten small beads (also refered to as a decade) recite a Hail Mary while reflecting on the mystery.
On the next large bead, recite the Glory Be to the Father, the Fatima prayer.
Each succeeding decade is prayed in a similar manner by recalling the appropriate mystery, reciting the Our Father, ten Hail Marys, the Glory Be to the Father, and the Fatima prayer ("O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell, lead all souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Thy mercy"), while reflecting on the mystery.
When the fifth mystery is completed, the Rosary is Customarily concluded with the Hail Holy Queen, and the Sign of the Cross.